Here comes the summer…

This week I finished my second year at university and just like last year a feeling of great excitement hit me, I was about to start my four month summer holidays! However, a feeling of both reflectiveness and nerves started to kick in too. This was going to be the last time for a while that I would have a four month summer holiday, as this time next year I’d be just about to graduate and be getting ready to go into the big bad world of PR.

For the first time since starting at university, I thought about how much I’d learnt about myself as a person and the knowledge I’d gained. I realised I’d learnt a lot more than I first thought! Writing a critical evaluation for my social media module, the main reason I started this blog, made me realise just how much I’d learnt. Evaluating my blog and the online presence I’d aimed to create in January really got me thinking. When I first started university, I didn’t know a lot about PR apart from ‘it being something to do with communication’, now I can’t understand how I didn’t know about it, when everything that surrounds me on a day-to-day basis bares some relation to the PR industry.

Not only have I gained a huge amount of knowledge about the PR industry, I’ve also realised the importance of social media tools and personal reputation management. This time last year, I can remember both Philip Young and Josh Halliday telling me in a social media workshop that Twitter was the best thing since sliced bread. I took no notice what so ever, saying that I just couldn’t understand it and it looked so complicated. Over the summer of 2010, I made it my mission to understand the frenzy and one year one I don’t know how I survived without it!

My era of being addicted to Facebook has finished, and I’m now addicted to Twitter. Not only do I use it as a tool to communicate with influential people in the industry, I also communicate with friends through it and I now find out the latest news right from my own phone! It’s the last thing I look at at night and the first thing I look at on a morning, (sad I know!)

All of this thinking made me decide that instead of having four months off doing nothing, I’m going to really make the most of my time. I’m going to continue to maintain (and hopefully increase) my online presence and I’m going to gain as much experience of the PR industry as possible. So that this time next year, the prospect of being in the big bad world won’t seem as big or bad after all!

Leave a Reply

