The importance of social media…

Since breaking up from University for summer just less than four weeks ago, the importance of social networking sites like Twitter and Facebook have become more apparent to me than ever before.

In the past four weeks not only have I won a Β£50 shopping voucher courtesy of Metrocentre and their ‘What’s in the bag?’ Twitter competition, I’ve also won a free car valet courtesy of Benfield Motors and their ‘Enjoy the Journey’ campaign. I’ve also spent some time helping out at Newcastle United Foundation, with the aim of raising the profile of the charity and the work that they do.

The more my personal use on sites like Twitter increases and the more industry experience I gain, the more I’ve realised that in todays market, social networking sites play a huge importance in an organisations development.

Organisations who don’t use social sites need to quickly come to grips with the idea that social media is fast becoming the main way to communicate with an audience and they need to understand how and why these sites can work to benefit them.

It is no longer enough for an organisation to just have a Facebook page or a Twitter feed. An organisation must be constantly using these sites to connect with existing and potential customers, ensuring the information they post is both timely and relevant. Having a Facebook page is one thing, have an effective Facebook page is another.

Running competitions on Twitter like ‘Retweet for clean seats! Free valet for 1 winning car lover at a Benfield dealership’ can generate a huge amount of interest in your company. When I saw the competition on my timeline last Tuesday, I automatically re-tweeted without thinking about whether I would win or not. By Tuesday night I was the winner of a free car valet and I haven’t stopped telling people about it since. I don’t know exactly how many people I’ve told, but I’ve definitely talked more about Benfield this week than I ever have before, I think that speaks volumes for itself!

Organisations need to understand that social sites aren’t difficult to run or operate and they can bring huge benefits to a company. All it takes is a little bit of time and effort…

Leave a Reply

