Top 100 Graduate Employers

I’m now just over half way through the first semester in my final year at University and this week the pressure has really been upped. The assignment deadlines set nine weeks ago are quickly creeping up and this week I pitched my PR proposals for my two practical project clients, the time really is flying by! Before I know it I will be handing in my final pieces of uni work and heading for the Stadium of Light ready to graduate and move into full-time employment.

The thought of going out and finding a job really began to hit home a few weeks ago, there is constant talk in the media about unemployment figures amongst young people and I think near enough every one of the 335,000 people who will graduate in 2012 all have the same fears about leaving university in at least £9000 worth of debt and having no job to move into.

Yesterday I picked up a free guide at university called ‘The Top 100 Graduate Employers’. After looking through the guide and the graduate schemes available I began to feel a little bit better about the prospect of getting a job after leaving university. In the year 2011/2012 recruiters expect to increase their graduate intake by a further 4.6percent, news to both mine and the other 335,000 2012 graduates.

I found the guide really helpful, I didn’t even realise some of the firms mentioned in the guide had graduate schemes! Each of The Top 100 firms has an individual page with details of the number of graduate opportunities they have available, the location of the vacancies, the areas they recruit in as well as information late starting salaries, benefits, application deadlines and information on the roles and how you can apply.

I would recommend anyone graduating next year to try and get a hold of one of these guides- they are definitely worth a look! More information can be found on The Times Top 100 Graduate Employers website. Good luck to all 334,999 of you!

Leave a Reply

